House Set to Hold Speaker Vote Today at 1:00 PM ET

by J Pelkey
0 comment

Representative Mike Johnson (R-LA 4th District), the Vice Chair of the House GOP Conference, has been chosen as the GOP Speaker nominee. This decision followed a closed-door meeting among House Republicans, during which Johnson emerged as the consensus candidate.

The race for the House Speaker position within the Republican Party took an unexpected turn on Tuesday when RINO Tom Emmer (MN) abruptly withdrew his candidacy. This move occurred shortly after President Trump posted a scathing criticism of Emmer on Truth Social. Emmer’s withdrawal paved the way for a new wave of GOP lawmakers to enter the race.

The options eventually boiled down to Rep. Byron Donalds (R-FL), Mike Johnson (R-LA), and Kevin McCarthy (R-CA), with McCarthy reportedly rejoining the competition in a last-minute attempt to secure the Speaker’s position. Ultimately, Donalds decided to endorse Johnson, as confirmed by Rep. Anna Paulina Luna (R-FL), clearing the path for the Louisiana congressman to be designated as Speaker just before 10 p.m.

House Republicans are expected to hold a Speaker vote today at 1:00 PM Eastern, as shared by Chad Pergram.

Newsletter Signup

Following a quorum call for attendance, there will be nominating speeches for both Johnson and House Minority Leader Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY). Then the House will hold their fourth vote for Speaker of the House.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Breaking Digest is focused on reporting breaking news that matters to the American people.

Edtior's Picks

Latest Articles