Senate Passes Stop-Gap Spending Bill 88-9 to Avert Shutdown, Funding All of the Democrat Policies

by J Pelkey
0 comment

In an 88-9 vote, the Senate approved a stopgap measure that will provide a temporary 45-day extension to avert a government shutdown. This vote was concluded with only three hours remaining before the end of the fiscal year.

Earlier in the evening, the House passed the short-term spending bill, also referred to as a continuing resolution, with a vote of 335-91.

Below is a list of the nine Republican Senators who voted against the measure:

Sen. Marsha Blackburn (TN)

Newsletter Signup

Sen. Mike Braun (IN)

Sen. Ted Cruz (TX)

Sen. Bill Hagerty (TN)

Sen. Mike Lee (UT)

Sen. Roger Marshall (KS)

Sen. Rand Paul (KY

Sen. J.D. Vance (OH)

Sen. Eric Schmitt (MO)

From the New York Times:

Congress narrowly averted a government shutdown on Saturday with just hours to spare as the House, in a stunning turnabout, approved a stopgap plan to keep the federal government open into mid-November and the Senate then cleared it and sent it to the White House.

The Senate voted 88-9 to approve the measure, which President Biden was expected to sign.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Breaking Digest is focused on reporting breaking news that matters to the American people.

Edtior's Picks

Latest Articles